Search
Close this search box.

Full Review of Chalky Spray Paint

If you’ve been around the blog for a while now, you probably know one of my favorite DIY projects is to paint old furniture. And my go-to product is generally chalk paint. I just love how easy it is to use and it’s always worked really well for me. But when I was browsing Home Depot the other day, I came across chalky spray paint. Yep, chalk paint in a can. Have you guys heard of this before?! I think it’s actually been out for a while now, so I’m probably way behind the curve, but holy cow chalk paint in a can! Of course I had to try it out and see how it compares to normal chalk paint. So today I’m sharing what happened when I tested it on a little side table, and a full review of this chalky spray paint.

Full Review of Chalky Spray Paint

One of the things I love so much about chalk paint is that you don’t have to sand the furniture before beginning your painting project. And you don’t need a primer either, which makes the painting process a total breeze. So when I bought the chalky spray paint, I really wanted to see if it would allow me to skip the same steps and still get a good result. I found an old side table, did no sanding or priming, and this is what happened using the Rust-Oleum Chalked Spray Paint in the color Aged Gray.

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Coverage

The coverage with this chalk spray paint is good, but you definitely have to build it up slowly. I was a little disappointed with the first coatas you can see it was splotchy and fairly light in coverage when first applied. However, when I applied the second coat, I noticed it not only went on more evenly, but the coverage was much better. So I’d definitely recommend at least two layers, possibly three depending on what you’re working on. Just be sure to let each coat fully dry before adding another.

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Application

With no sanding and no priming, I was really interested to see how the chalk paint adhered to the table. I found that it bubbled up in some spots and went on smoothly in others, as you can see in this shot. Applying spray paint is always tricky, I find it’s hard to get an even application, and this was no different. But I’m happy to say the second coat covered up all of the little bubble areas and I ended up with a nice, even application.

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Here it is after 2 coats:

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Finish

With normal chalk paint, the finish is really dry and kind of roughwhich is why you need to go over it with wax. With this spray paint, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the finish was nice and smooth, and there was no need for wax. Yay! It is definitely matte, but still really smooth and soft to the touch. No waxing is a HUGE plus in my book.

Here’s the finished look:

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Review of Chalky Spray Paint on Side Table

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Review of Chalky Spray Paint

Overall Review

Overall I’d say this chalky spray paint is awesome. At first I wasn’t so impressed, but once I got that second coat on, I was actually really happy with the look. No sanding, no priming, no need for wax, just spray it on and go. Plus I was able to add a bit of distressing with sandpaper and had no problem, which is another plus. And I can’t get over the fact that it’s waaaaaaay cheaper than my usual Annie Sloan Chalk Paint with a very similar result. I honestly think this works just as well as regular chalk paint. The trick is making sure you apply it in thin, even coats, which can sometimes be hard to do with spray paint. And just for reference, I used one full can for this painting project, so you’d need to grab a few cans for anything larger.

Ok friends, that’s my full review of the Rust-Oleum Chalked Spray Paint. I think the table turned out pretty darn cute. I’d love to hear what you think of the finished look. And feel free to let me know if you have any questions. Thanks so much for stopping by!

If you’re interested in learning more about regular chalk paint, here’s more info and my best tips and tricks…

Top 10 Chalk Paint Tips

Leave a Comment

The Comments

  • Marilyn Soto
    October 4, 2016

    Thanks -I have seen this in the store but always thought I’d still have to wax it …..that’s the part I’m not a fan of and have to get really siked up for.

    I’m a big spray paint advocate and am never concerned that a piece I’d like to buy is the wrong color -it can always be painted is my motto!

    • Sarah
      > Marilyn Soto
      October 4, 2016

      Heck ya, that’s my motto too Marilyn! Someone on Instagram just told me they sell a clear wax like spray paint that goes along with this, which I didn’t realize, but I think you can get by without using it just fine.

  • Chrissy
    October 4, 2016

    Oh im doing this!!!!

    • Sarah
      > Chrissy
      October 4, 2016

      Go for it Chrissy, I bet you’ll love it!

      • Kay
        > Sarah
        January 7, 2023

        Yes I’ve used both. The clear matte cover is great for pieces that may get a lot of “traffic” or heavier use

  • Amelia
    October 4, 2016

    Hello! I love how your table turned out!! Totally unrelated to the spray chalk paint tutorial, but where did you get those curtains??? I LOVE them!

  • Jonita
    October 4, 2016

    I like the chalk board spray paint and have seen the chalk spat paint and wonder how the color would turn out. Thank you for sharing I have a couple small pieces I want to do. So I will try it. Love your site.

    • Sarah
      > Jonita
      October 4, 2016

      Give it a try Jonita, I was pleasantly surprised with this stuff!

  • Sandy @ Shady Meadow Cottage
    October 4, 2016

    I can’t believe I’m going to admit this, but I’ve never tried chalk paint. The biggest reason is I’ve never been able to justify the expense. I think your table turned out great! I have a end table I’ve been wanting to paint. I just might give this a try.

    • Sarah
      > Sandy @ Shady Meadow Cottage
      October 4, 2016

      I hear you Sandy, it’s very pricey! I can usually make one can of chalk paint last for several projects by thinning it out with water, but it’s still really expensive. This is a great alternative! Give it a try.

  • Deanna
    October 4, 2016

    Funny. I used this aged gray last weekend. I felt like it looked blue among my creams. Did you feel it looks blue?
    I’m going to repaint cream with a new chalk paint brand at Walmart. Have you tried that yet? I haven’t but it is less expensive then Sloan.
    Your table looks great!!!

    • Sarah
      > Deanna
      October 4, 2016

      It does have a little bit of a blue tint to it actually. I haven’t tried any other brands yet, but I might pick some up and see how they compare to this one. Thanks for stopping by Deanna!

      • Deanna
        > Sarah
        October 5, 2016

        FYI…the brand is Waverly and is in the craft section and was $6 for a jar. They have quite a few colors just in case you decide to try it. I repainted today and like it.

        • Sarah
          > Deanna
          October 5, 2016

          Great, thanks for the info!

        • Alofa
          > Deanna
          May 11, 2020

          Table looks great! I’ve used this chalky spray paint to revamp a cabinet & a couple of lamp stands. Do you know if it’s ok to paint a lampshade with too?

  • Chelsea @ The Johnsons Plus Dog
    October 4, 2016

    Oh my goodness, thank you so much for trying this out for me! I heard about it the other day and I was so curious. I’ll have to give it a whirl next time. Great review.

    • Sarah
      > Chelsea @ The Johnsons Plus Dog
      October 5, 2016

      I’d definitely go for it Chelsea, I was really impressed with this stuff. Thanks for stopping by!

  • deb
    October 5, 2016

    I have a chandelier that I would like to paint a matte black, will the chalk spray paint work on metal? I also have never tried the chalk paint, although there are classes within my area that I would love to try. Thanks for the info on the spray paint.
    Deb

    • Sarah
      > deb
      October 5, 2016

      Yes Deb, it should definitely work on metal. Give it a try!

  • Brenda
    October 5, 2016

    I’m so excited to see this chalk spray paint! I was just spray painting a few small pieces today and will have to wax them, but next time I will try this! Thanks for the review, the table looks great!

  • For Your Weekend – Be Still And Know He Is God
    October 6, 2016

    […] Full Review Of Chalky Spray Paint by Little Vintage Nest […]

  • Holly
    October 18, 2016

    I tried the curtains but the drop cloth has this line right in the middle of it. Do they look different up close?

    • Sarah
      > Holly
      October 18, 2016

      Hmm that’s weird. Mine don’t have a line on them…do you mean a line where they were folded?

  • Leanne
    October 30, 2016

    I would like to trg this out for a desk aad dresser for my daughter’s room. Does it hold up well to wear and tear?

    • Sarah
      > Leanne
      October 30, 2016

      If you’re ok with a more distressed look, the chalky spray paint would be fine. But if you’re looking for a really polished look with no chipping or distressing at all, I’d go with primer and regular paint. Check out this post to see how I did a dresser like that: https://sarahjoyblog.com/vintage-dresser-makeover/

      • Carrie HardwareGirl
        > Sarah
        September 15, 2018

        I am a True Value Hardwarian/Paint Specialist and we carry this Rustoleum Spray Paint. We’ve had nothing but good reviews from our friendly crafters. I will however suggest a Porch and Floor Paint for furniture that is used daily. It will hold up better. Ours comes in a Satin finish or a Semi-Gloss.

      • Melanie Lietz
        > Sarah
        April 10, 2022

        I covered my desk and filing cabinet tops with two coats of spray polyurethane, I did one coat on the sides. And I used this color! I love it!!

  • Jackie
    November 7, 2016

    I just used the dark gray (almost black) of this same paint on two wooden chairs and looved it! We will see how they hold up. I’M really hoping the color won’t rub off for people sitting in the chairs?? thoughts? xo

    • Sarah
      > Jackie
      November 7, 2016

      Hi Jackie! You could try to use a clear finishing spray to seal the chairs just to ensure the color doesn’t rub off. I’d suggest the Zinsser Clear Aerosol Shellac, I use it a lot and it works pretty well. Hope that helps!

  • Dana
    February 14, 2017

    I have used the brush on version of Rust-oleum Chalk paint and found it to be pretty good, although not as thick as other brands I have tried. I am excited to try this spray version to use on smaller projects! I have been refinishing furniture for years, and by far chalk paint cuts down the time spent in prep work. Thanks for the honest review!

  • Haley
    March 7, 2017

    I recently used this same brand on a side table and after sanding he color keeps rubbing off! I know I could do a clear coat over but love the matte, chalk finish. Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

  • Deb
    March 28, 2017

    Thank you for this post! I did not realize Rustoleum had a chalk spray paint. I love Rustoleum and I love chalk pain. Win-win!
    After pinning your post I bought some to paint my dining room furniture. I have begun with the chairs. I removed the cushions, recovered the seats, and have painted 3 of the 6 chairs. I love it!
    Next I am going to paint the china cabinet & buffet.
    Thanks again!

    • Sarah
      > Deb
      March 28, 2017

      Oh wow Deb, you’re taking on a lot! I’m sure it will all look amazing when you’re finished. Good luck to you!

    • Jaclyn
      > Deb
      June 13, 2018

      Great to hear you did a dining set! How did it turn out? You used the chalk spray right? Do you prefer it to the regular chalk paint? Did you wax or seal your chairs? Nervous about how much mine will be used, especially with kids around!

  • Lizzy
    April 3, 2017

    I used it on a very ornate mirror, and it came out really nice.

  • The Easiest DIY Farmhouse Candlesticks - Little Vintage Nest
    April 5, 2017

    […] This was my first time using it (I’ve tried the spray paint version, see my post about it here) but I was really happy with this paint. It covers well, dries fast, and has the same look as the […]

  • the uncommon pearl
    April 7, 2017

    How cool is this! Have you tried it on glass? I have to paint 40 mason jars for a wedding and this would save a ton of time!

    • Sarah
      > the uncommon pearl
      April 8, 2017

      I haven’t tried it, but you could test it out on 1 or 2 and see see how it works. I bet it would do great!

  • Natalie Scott
    April 17, 2017

    Hello! First time here and I already love everything I’ve read! I am going to try this spray paint on some DIY candlesticks, but I was wondering if there is a certain topcoat you would use when using this spray paint?

    • Sarah
      > Natalie Scott
      April 17, 2017

      Hi Natalie! I didn’t use any topcoat actually, but the table is holding up really well without it. Good luck on your project and thanks for dropping in!

  • My Top 10 Chalk Painting Tips & Tricks
    May 31, 2017

    […] Full Review of Chalky Spray Paint […]

  • Marnie burleson
    June 25, 2017

    I’m doing this on my coffee table today. We use the table a lot and wondered if it would hold up to putting stuff on the table or do I need a finishing coat? Love your tutorial

    • Sarah
      > Marnie burleson
      June 26, 2017

      I didn’t put any finishing coat on this side table and I am happy to say it’s held up fine for me!

    • Grant Smith
      > Marnie burleson
      April 17, 2019

      Worst spray paint I have ever used. Sprays into the well of the nozzle no matter what angle you use. Get used to drips, never had a spray paint drip so quickly. It seems like a nice thin coat and I’d come back and it would drip down the piece. Also needed way too many cans to finish my project. I will note I was using the white and it was 8-9 degrees Celsius out. Maybe in a warmer environment it works but I will never buy again.

      • Kay
        > Grant Smith
        January 7, 2023

        It has to be above 10 degrees c. And shake it a lot. That’s in the instructions on the can

        I painted a dresser outside when it was around 10 degrees and it was ok but really tried to do several thin coats

  • Marilyn
    July 4, 2017

    Thanks, it’s very informative

  • Joni
    July 20, 2017

    It works really well for me

  • Elliott
    July 22, 2017

    Thanks for the great guide

  • Pam
    August 1, 2017

    Hi Sarah, Just saw your site for the first time – Beautiful job on the end table! Thanks so much for your info. If l were to give a table as a gift, I am always concerned about water damage if someone puts a glass down without a coaster. Have you experimented with different sealants & have you found any with low VOC’s? I need to seal things inside in the winter. Thanks So very Much!

  • Marjean Jolley
    September 1, 2017

    So have you ever used this spray paint on cupboards? I have a couple in my laundry room that I would love to try it on.

    • Sarah
      > Marjean Jolley
      September 1, 2017

      No, I haven’t tried spray paint on cupboards yet. But it might be worth a shot!

  • Wanda
    September 24, 2017

    I few months ago I rolled the Rustoleum grey paint onto a concrete floor in my office after we had a water leak and the carpet had to be removed. The floor was vacuumed and hastily cleaned with wet towels and left to dry. We used a brush to cut in the paint around the baseboards and rolled on the rest. One coat was ok and two were wonderful. I didn’t put any type coating on it. It is not completely matt but I like it a lot. I don’t know how it will wear but I didn’t really care about that when I made the decision to use chalk paint as I like the distressed look. I have an indoor outdoor sisal rug on it also. Love it. So easy to apply and clean up is a breeze also. it did have a paint smell that lasted a couple months. But even that wasn’t harsh.

    • Donna
      > Wanda
      March 28, 2018

      You used chalk paint on the concrete floor in the utility room???? I didn’t think that would be possible. Did it hold up? Any tips looking back in hindsight??

  • Janice Hodgeman
    September 24, 2017

    I tried it, and I just love it! I’ve been painting everything from picture frames to tables with it. I love the creamy vanilla. I didn’t put a wax coating over it. I also painted an old Home Interior mirror that was my moms and it turned out beautiful!

  • Cindy
    October 3, 2017

    Using this spray chalk paint, does is scratch easily? I’m wondering if I would have to use polyurethane after spray painting it?

    • Sarah
      > Cindy
      October 3, 2017

      Yep, it will scratch easily. I’d definitely put a coat of poly on top if you don’t want it to do that.

  • Mary Morgan Clark
    October 5, 2017

    Love love love the spray chalk paint! You can do a piece in minutes. It’s fun and easy. Best part …..no brushes to wash!

    • Sarah
      > Mary Morgan Clark
      October 8, 2017

      Exactly Mary! I hate washing brushes.

  • Holly
    October 18, 2017

    Hi Sarah,
    This comment is in response to your article that is a review of chalky spray paint. I would like to try using the chalky spray paint, but I’ve never painted any furniture before, so I’m a little apprehensive. I have a light oak end table very similar to yours that I was going to replace, but may just paint now (maybe a cream color). How did you get the “worn off” or distressed look? Did the paint just cover that way or did you use an additional technique?

    • Sarah
      > Holly
      October 19, 2017

      That worn off look is super easy to get. After you have painted the furniture, just get a piece of sandpaper and lightly sand on any areas of the piece that you want to have that “worn” look. It will take the paint right off! Easy peasy!

  • Erin
    November 14, 2017

    I love the chair next to the table!!! Where is that from?

  • K
    March 13, 2018

    FYI I used this product on the inside of drawers. The smell was overpowering when you opened the drawers weeks later.

  • Jennifer
    April 30, 2018

    I’m thinking of doing this in my kitchen. We have that 70’s “Z” brick…. Any thoughts? (In my opinion it can’t get any worse!)

  • Annie Sloan Chalk Paint vs Rust-Oleum Chalked Paint
    May 28, 2018

    […] Review of the Rust-Oleum Chalky Spray Paint […]

  • Ann Stubbs
    June 7, 2018

    Lovely website, wish I come across it earlier! I have just used this chalked spray paint on some Lloyd Loom items (chair and linen box) and they look fantastic, but ……. when touched/brushed against chalk is coming off on hands etc. I don’t really want to use wax spray on top. MaybeI sprayed too thick on second coat? Would you recommend dusting off and doing a 3rd light coat?

  • Barbie
    August 2, 2018

    I have seen a lot of posts on Pintrest about making your own chalk paint and was wondering if you had ever tried it or know of anyone who has. It would add a ton of color options!

    • Barbara Pelzer
      > Barbie
      September 26, 2018

      I make my own chalk paint in small quantities for small things. I use the calcium carbonate recipe. I got mine at our local co-op. They ordered it for me and it was about $7 so that’s affordable. It works well. I have yet to use it on any large projects however.

  • Sue
    September 6, 2018

    I just used this spray chalk paint in char HIL grey on a curbside find, a lil three drawer chest. Turned out great, super easier than the armoire I chalk painted with a brush, thought my hand was gonna fall off! I bought the country blue for my next project, a chest. They also sell a spray top coat for chalk paint so no waxing needed-win/win!

  • Barbara Pelzer
    September 26, 2018

    Love how the table came out. I tried it on a hutch recently using the waterfall blue. I love the results! it was so easy and, like you said, you need to use more than 1 coat to get good coverage. I definitely will be using it again on more projects coming up.

  • Chris
    October 7, 2018

    Do you think this spray paint would be durable enough for kitchen chairs? I’ve been putting off painting them, but this would make it so easy!

  • Shari
    November 12, 2018

    Thank you for posting! I’m going to paint the legs of my grandmothers old dining table and the chairs using chalk spray paint …don’t have time for all that normal prep ( we’re moving soon) I feel confidant now that it will turn out great! Yours looks really good! Thanks again!

    • Sarah
      > Shari
      November 13, 2018

      Go for it Shari! I would actually recommend the Kyrlon chalky spray paint if you ca find it.(I get it at Hobby Lobby). It’s better than Rust-Oleum in my opinion .

  • Shirley Meckley
    March 2, 2019

    I love the table. I too have been using the spray for various projects and am happy with all.

  • Brenda
    March 26, 2019

    Can you please tell me where you got your curtains in this pic? My daughter loves them.

    Beautiful job on the table, very helpful

    Thanks

  • Sylvie
    June 13, 2019

    I’ve seen that too at home depot but the color that I started painting with is more of an off-white color and home depot only had white. Any suggestions?

  • Pat
    August 20, 2019

    Thanks for the great reviews : you get right to the point and stick to it ,
    No one wants to read a bunch of superfluous stuff.

  • Kathy Mertz
    August 21, 2019

    I have a question. Can this be used on a metal front door? I want to paint my front door but am confused about paint to use.

  • Linda
    March 22, 2020

    Well, I’m 4 years late in trying chalk paint, but it’s good to see the raves about spraying! Just bought this for a bookcase, so it may take several cans. I’m going to finish it with the matte sealant they offer too. I see the comment about it adhering to metal, so my old table lamps are getting a matching coat.
    Do you think a dining table would be better off with a hand application and wax?

    • Sarah
      > Linda
      March 24, 2020

      Hi Linda, yes I’d think the dining table would do much better with hand painting and wax!

  • Deborah
    April 6, 2020

    Can this spray paint be used on a piece of furniture that has already been spray painted by someone else?

    • Sarah
      > Deborah
      April 7, 2020

      yeah I think so!

  • Shirley Roy
    April 28, 2020

    It turned out beautiful!
    I have never painted a piece of furniture and really need my bedroom furniture updated was a had me down. I can’t afford to replace it and I am looking forward to trying the Chalky Spray Paint. Alittle nervous but I have nothi g to lose

  • christie jackson
    April 30, 2020

    Wow that turned out beautiful!! My daughter wants her dresser a distressed gray. But I’m worried about it rubbing off. Is there a spray wax or top coat that I can use to help with that, that is a matte finish? I love the chalk look and would love to keep it like that but protected.

  • Ph
    June 14, 2020

    Have You tried the clear chalky Rust-Oleum paint? Do you think it would make regular paint look chalky? Or is it just a regular sealer?

  • Sharon
    July 12, 2020

    I have a good outdoor patio set in a heavy gauge plastic that has become faded. Would the Rustoleum paint or spray stand up to this application and what would I seal it with afterwards?

  • Ariane
    August 18, 2020

    Have you ever used both spray and painted chalked paint in a project? I have a large hutch & was thinking of spraying the detailed parts vs brushing. Thoughts? Thanks for all your comparisons!

  • Angela
    September 7, 2020

    How did you distress this furniture, and at what point did you do this, did you use sandpaper? Saw this on Pinterest. Thank you, Angela

  • Jennifer Mitchell
    October 1, 2020

    how has the spray painted item held up?

  • Alissa walker
    October 3, 2020

    Love the table. But also love your curtains in the background. Where did you get those. Thank you! ❤️

  • Barbara Roberson
    October 22, 2020

    I used this to redo a table and four chairs. I love the look. I wondered if I need to seal it?
    And thanks to your review is why I used it!

    Thanks so much,
    Barbara

  • Harriett
    October 31, 2020

    I have just started to dabble in painting furniture. My first piece was an end table similar to the one you did. I stripped and sanded both with that piece and was thrilled when a friend told me about chalk paint. Thank you so much for your comparisons. I’m using Rust-oleum brush on paint on my project this time. Was so glad to see your comparison because my Rust-oleum first coat looked just like yours .. very streaky .. so much so that I stopped and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with that table. Now … I’m going to finish it with a second coat and hope it covers as good as yours did!! Thank you so much!!

  • Stephanie
    November 21, 2020

    Great job! I also painted a table and thought spray paint was way better option than brushing it on with Annie Sloan.

  • SHANDA EDSTROM
    December 14, 2020

    Hello,
    I have a question for you. I’m currently using the Rustoleum Chalked Spray Paint in Blush Pink and recently I’ve noticed that the paint is drying darker on the edges of the furniture I’m painting. I can’t figure out what’s causing it. I shake each can for 4 minutes & a little while I’m painting. Do you have any advice for me? I can send you a picture of the issue if that helps.
    Thanks,
    Shanda

  • Christina K
    December 15, 2020

    That looks beautiful. I have 2 dark wood tables with a glossy finish, I’ve been wanting to chalk paint & lighten up. Any suggestions? Do you think I need to sand the glossy coat off?

  • Saly
    December 26, 2020

    I don’t know a lot about Chalk paint but I’ve read that if you don’t wax it, moisture on that table is going to emulsify the paint again.

  • Laura
    March 8, 2021

    👏

  • Andrea Todd
    March 17, 2021

    I enjoyed your article. I have used Annie Sloan chalk paint in the past but today I went to Ace hardware and bought the Rust-Oleum chalk paint. I noticed the spray chalk paint there and I was curious about it so I’m glad to read your article I’ll be trying that also. Thanks for taking all the guess work out for me!

    in the past

  • Tammi Williams
    July 13, 2021

    I find that spray chalk paint very interested. I’ve never used Annie Sloan paint before but I do love that Rustoleum Chalked Paint. I’ve used it quite a bit now. I have never used the wax method on any of my furniture though. I use minwax poly on it. So much easier. I’m going to paint over some of my furniture with a different color so I will see how that works. Thanks for the info.

  • Nesma
    October 2, 2022

    Wow wonderful I love it

  • Neya
    October 6, 2022

    Thanks for sharing! I’m just getting into refinishing furniture and was excited to find this same can a few days ago. Would this hold up on high- use furniture like a dining table and chairs? If so, I might be able to finish this re-upholstering and painting in time for Thanksgiving!

  • Pamela
    August 15, 2023

    Can u sand paper after u spray paint?

    • Sarah
      > Pamela
      August 15, 2023

      yes you can! that will give you a more vintage, aged look.

  • Mandy
    January 15, 2024

    Sorry this is a year late but I just came across your blog! Have you ever used the spray chalk paint on metal? I’m getting ready to do a metal bed & researching the best paint. I love the look chalk paint gives!