Drop Cloth Curtain Review

One of the questions I get a lot over on Instagram is about our curtains in the basement. Everyone wants to know where I found them and I’m always happy to write back and share that these are simple drop cloth curtains! Today I’m excited to share my full review with you lovely folks. I’m covering everything you need to know about drop cloth curtains–from size to quality, texture, and more. Hopefully this will be helpful if you’re thinking about using them in your home!

Drop Cloth Curtain Review
Some of the links included in this post are affiliate links. Thanks so much for supporting my blog!

Before I jump into the review, I want to share how simple these curtains are. I bought my drop clothsfrom Home Depot. The packaging looks like this:

Drop Cloth

I started with washing and drying the drop cloths. Then I finishd it up with a bit of ironing–which is totally optional. EASY. Next I decided how much of the drop cloth I wanted to puddle on the floor and how much I wanted to fold over at the top. Once I adjusted it to my liking, I simply used drapery clip rings to hang them up, which you can find here.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

I have 7 clips (1 full package of the drapery clips) on each panel and they’re all about 9-10 inches apart for this look.

Industrial Pipe Curtain Rode

Side note–how cool is this pipe curtain rodfrom Target?!

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

Sooooo easy guys. Crazy easy, in fact.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

My review and thoughts:

Size

These drop cloths are 6ft x 9ft, which is HUGE compared to your normal curtain. I think this is awesome for two reasons:

1) these are perfect for large windows. The window in our master bedroom is really long and the normal curtains we had in this spot before wouldn’t cover the entire window when closed–which wasn’t ideal if you’re looking to get privacy. With the drop cloth curtains, we are able to cover the entire window at night and it’s glorious.

2) If you’re using these in a room with tall ceilings or over a door, these will definitely work for you. 9 feet equals 108 inches, which is the largest size curtain available at most stores. That means these should work for almost any window or door.

No Sewing

For me personally, one of the best things about drop cloth curtain is that there is no sewing involved at all. Zilch. Nada. They are already hemmed on the side, so these babies literally go up in minutes.

Cheap

Each drop cloth costs about $11 from Home Depot, so you’re looking at under $25 for each set. That is suuuuuper cheap and very budget friendly, which is always a big plus in my book. BUT the great part is they don’t look cheap. Right? Everyone is always so surprised to hear these are drop cloths.

Color & Texture

Over the past year I’ve really tried to avoid bright and “busy” curtains. This used to be my trademark, I loved me some crazy curtains. But since transitioning to farmhouse style I have found that white and neutral colored curtains are much more soothing to the eye and complimentary to the rest of my decor. Plus they go with everything. So I’m obviously a HUGE fan of this light creamy oatmeal color. And on top of that, the texture is really nice. They’re canvas, so that means they’re a woven cotton fabric which is heavier than your typical curtain. They aren’t going to keep all the light out when closed, but I think they do a really nice job of darkening the room when needed.

Quality

I’ve bought many curtains over the past several years. Lots and lots. And I have to say, in regard to quality, these drop cloth curtains are definitely at the top of the list. In fact, I purchased a pair of white curtains from Target about six months ago, before I knew about the magic of drop cloth curtains, and they are incredibly thin in comparison–they’re basically white sheets hanging in our window. And they just look cheap. I honestly think these drop cloth curtains look much more expensive and they’re very durable.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

So there’s my full review of our drop cloth curtains. As you can tell I love them and I think they add lots of warmth and coziness to any room. I would definitely recommend using them if you like the look. As I mentioned earlier, mine are from Home Depot and they’re the only ones I’ve tried at this point. But Amazon does carry a large variety of drop cloths that are very similar– you can check those out here if you’re interested. Really, drop cloths are super versatile and can be used in a variety of different ways around your home–you can reupholster furniture with drop cloths, sew pillow covers, table runners, etc. You can even dye them different colors, although I’ve yet to try that out. Lots and lots of possibilities. Thanks so much for stopping by friends and be sure to let me know if you have any questions!

Everything You Need to Know About Drop Cloth Curtains

 

Hi, I'm Sarah. Welcome to my happy place! I'm mama to three, wife to my high school sweetheart + Colorado native. Let's decorate. Or maybe go on a Target run?!

Shop My Posts

Leave a Comment

93 Comments

  1. 7.27.16
    Julie said:

    Thank you! That was very helpful. I especially appreciate the pictures and link to the products you used. I will try this!

    • 7.27.16
      Sarah said:

      Yay! So happy it was helpful Julie!

  2. 7.27.16
    Cindy said:

    How close together are the clips? Yours look perfect!

    • 7.27.16
      Sarah said:

      Thanks Glenna! I have 7 clips on each panel and they’re all about 9-10 inches apart.

  3. 7.27.16
    Kellie said:

    I have drop cloth curtains in my dining room that are painted some day I will post them!
    I love yours they look great!!

    • 7.27.16
      Sarah said:

      Yes you should definitely do a post about those, I love them!

      • 7.27.16
        Tyla said:

        How did you exactly fold them? I have tried this and was not successful. Is there some short of video or picture that you posted that I’m not seeing ?
        Ues, thank you for all your help your help.

  4. 7.27.16
    Debbi said:

    What a great look! I will try these in my new home we are building. LUV your decor and home!!!

    • 7.27.16
      Sarah said:

      Awesome, I’m sure you will love them as much as I do. Thanks so much Debbi!

  5. 7.27.16
    Karen langford said:

    Love this! Are they heavy?

    • 7.28.16
      Sarah said:

      They are a bit heavier than your normal curtain, but I personally think that adds to their appeal. Thanks for stopping by Karen!

      • 7.31.16
        Karen langford said:

        Thanks, Sarah!

  6. 7.28.16

    I did this with white bedsheets and I loved the look of the folded over portion! I have changed my living room and was thinking about new curtains, I am going to do this!!

  7. 7.30.16
    Sue said:

    I can’t wait to try these. I have never added curtains on my large windows, because nothing I have ever found seems to work. Hope mine turns out as great as yours.

    • 7.31.16
      Sarah said:

      Yay! I hope this works for you. Let me know how it turns out!

  8. 8.1.16
    Jill said:

    What’s the wall color?

  9. 8.8.16
    Kristina said:

    You said you washed and dried them- did you dry all the way? If so, did you notice if they shrunk up at all?

    • 8.8.16
      Sarah said:

      I did dry them all the way, but didn’t notice any shrinking.

  10. 8.9.16
    Doreen Sulfaro said:

    Sarah, your blogs are wonderful and so helpful. I love all your decorating styles and ideas. Having purchased a new home recently and changing my décor style to vintage, rustic, farmstyle, it has been sooooo helpful. 🙂 I am going to be attempting the drop cloth curtains on the door in my kitchen. Will send you pic when complete. Keep the great ideas and tips coming. xoxo

    • 8.9.16
      Sarah said:

      Thank you so much Doreen, I love hearing that my blog has been helpful to you! I’m so glad you’re here. And definitely send me a photo when you get the drop cloth up in your kitchen!

  11. 8.26.16

    Just recently dyed me some drop cloths for our sliding glass window curtains. Love how they turned out and you can t beat the price for sure! I had the same idea! Did you wash your drop cloths? I had bought new ones and they had the creases in in them from being folded up in the pkg washed them and then they shrunk wayyyyyy up lol Just curious how you got the big crease marks out love your blog, so glad I stumbled across it!!

    • 8.26.16
      Sarah said:

      Hi Donnell! I washed and ironed mine to get the creases out…I didn’t notice them shrink at all, so that’s odd yours did. But I’m glad you were able to make them work! I haven’t tried dying them yet but I want to. Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

    • 1.25.18
      Leah said:

      I realize I am about a year and half late on this but I just had the same problem! Washed and dried mine, went to hang them and I’d be lucky if mine are 7 feet long! So disappointing! However, I ordered mine off of Amazon so maybe it’s a different material! I’ll be going to Home Depot tomorrow and buying the exact ones as you posted in your tutorial!

      • 1.30.18
        Sherri said:

        Oh wow…..I was just looking at them on Amazon, have them in the cart to buy…..now I’m reconsidering…..love the look but don’t want a bunch of short curtains……

        • 8.28.19
          Sarah said:

          Typical drop cloths from hardware stores are a cotton/polyester blend and so will not shrink. 100% cotton canvas drop cloths WILL shrink so badly you won’t be able to use them. The cotton ones will bleach, however and the polyester ones WILL NOT bleach. I learned this the hard way. I bought three sets of drop cloths before I figured it out. If you want yours very white via bleaching, get 100% cotton, but think about how much you need and adjust for inevitable shrinking by at least a foot. If you like the natural look of drop cloth (kind of a gray taupe color) then go with the polyester blend and you’ll have no issues.

        • 2.2.20
          Vikki said:

          I love the look and have been wanting to try it for years. I finally took the plunge and bought one 6×9 drop cloth from Lowe’s. I hung it up to get a feel for it… and it has a horizontal seam right across the middle. 😩
          It appears yours from HD do not. ??

  12. 10.5.16
    Lisa Duty said:

    Wow, these look great! I’m so glad I found you. I was just about to try some burlap curtains I found on Pinterest. I like these much better and they’re washable. I have a questions though: How heavy are they? And is that the farmhouse style for the rod and rings? I love the farmhouse style….although I’ve always enjoyed color. Recently bought a new couch….in teal….. got any ideas?

  13. 12.11.16
    Robin Brooks said:

    Fabulous idea!! Just completing a renovation from a barn to a house and this will be perfect!!

    • 12.11.16
      Sarah said:

      Oh yay! Sounds like you have an awesome renovation going on Robin!

  14. 12.20.16
    Christine said:

    What did you use for the rod on these drop cloth curtains? Looks great!!

  15. 12.29.16
    Lindsay said:

    I love the curtains, I had seen this a while back and wanted to try but have not had the chance yet. Your home is beautiful. I wanted to ask if you made the cushion for the bench at the end of your bed? I love that look and I seen a tutorial but I have never used a sewing machine before. So I’m a little nervous!

    Thanks!

    • 12.29.16
      Sarah said:

      Hi Lindsay! I actually bought that cushion from Pier 1, you can find it here: https://rstyle.me/n/caytnab6hgf

    • 9.14.19
      Jenn said:

      Just a tip, I bought some from Lowe’s and did t realize until after I washed them that they have a big , huge seam in the middle of them. So, two smaller pieces sewed together. If I hung them, that seam would be horizontal. Just not ideal. Buy the ones Sarah suggested at Home Depot so that doesn’t happen to you! Now, I have drop cloths to use for painting, lol

  16. 12.29.16
    Shelby Meckem said:

    Where did you find your sign that says home? Love it!! I just made these curtains and I am obsessed. Thank you for great directions.

    • 12.29.16
      Sarah said:

      Hi Shelby! I’m so happy to hear you did the drop cloth curtains and love them. I’m obsessed, not sure I’ll ever go back to normal curtains. Anyway, the HOME sign was actually one of my DIY projects. Super cheap and easy. You can find my tutorial here: https://sarahjoyblog.com/diy-home-sign/

  17. 12.30.16

    I love drop cloth curtains!! I made some for our dining room a few weeks ago & blogged about it too!!! They’re so easy & so pretty! I love how yours came out 🙂

  18. 1.29.17
    Alicia said:

    Love this post! I ordered the clips and will go to Home Depot soon!
    Where is that love seat or chair and a half from! I LOVE that too!!

  19. 4.5.17
    Katie said:

    I just got these and bought the exact same ones and both of them have a giant seam going through the middle. Do yours as well? I couldn’t tell from your photo. If they did how did you hide it?

  20. 5.12.17
    Elizabeth said:

    I just bought a ton of drop cloths to do this project but I bought the 10 oz heavy duty stuff thinking that it would be better for “room darkening” curtains (I live in AZ and try to keep the house as cool as possibly by keeping the light out and curtains closed during the summer months). The 10 oz fabric is extremely stiff though and doesn’t fall very nicely. Does the 8 oz do a pretty good job at keeping the light out or is it too thin for my needs?

    Thanks you!

    • 10.13.17
      jill said:

      Hello, What did you end up doing? I purchased the 10oz ones as well. I am washing one now and I added softner. Hoping that will help.

  21. 8.11.17
    D said:

    Everytime I close or open my curtains, they shed.. Lots of particles in the air. They are Lowes brand. Does this brand from Home Depot do the same?
    Thanks

    • 8.11.17
      Sarah said:

      oh no! I got mine from Home Depot and they don’t do that. Did you wash them first?

  22. 9.15.17

    I just finished my drop cloth curtains and they look so rich in my living room. We used galvanized pipes used for gas fittings that we painted black and used plumbing fittings for the industrial look. My curtains fit in so well with my farmhouse look. My floors are barn board look and the curtains look perfect with them. My next project is doing a faux beam between the kitchen and living room.

    • 9.17.17
      Sarah said:

      Oh wow Colette, your home sounds amazing. I’m glad you like the drop cloth curtains!

  23. 10.3.17
    Cindy said:

    How did you fold these at the top?

  24. 12.9.17
    Claire said:

    OK I have seen this tutorial everywhere and decided to do it. I bought several drop cloths from Home Depot. They all have a seam right slap across the middle. In every tutorial, nobody mentions this seam. How is it that every single pair I bought happens to have this, but nobody else’s does??

    • 12.10.17
      Sarah said:

      Shoot! I’m sorry Claire, I’ve never had a seam in mine but I know others have. Maybe it was just that batch. Can you take them back and try a few more? Sorry, I know that’s a total pain!

      • 2.8.18
        Claire said:

        It is a pain! I’ve even tried Lowe’s. And all stores within 100 miles lol. Which state are you located? I have some family scattered and I’m that desperate, I will ask them to buy them and ship them to me! Ha ha I have just wanted this look for so long.

    • 3.29.18
      Tammy said:

      I’m having the same problem with the seam. Please let me know if anyone finds them without this. I’m in Cincinnati,Ohio.
      Thank you

      • 4.1.18
        Sarah said:

        I’m so sorry! I haven’t bought any with seams and I just bought two more drop cloths within the last month. I don’t know why some have seams and some don’t 🙁

  25. 1.17.18
    Trish said:

    Love these! I’ve been searching for curtains for my living room for months and just couldn’t seem to find the right style. I came across your blog and LOVE this idea. It was super easy ( and inexpensive). I finally have the look I was going for!
    Thank you!

    • 1.18.18
      Sarah said:

      Oh yay!! So glad this was helpful for you Trish. xo

  26. 2.14.18
    Maria said:

    I loved the post and the idea!! I have only one question, the weight of the drop cloth. I’ve seen online from 6 to 9oz.
    I am planing to make curtains for my back porch and I am not sure which one would be the best.
    Any suggestions? Thanks

  27. 8.28.18
    Raine said:

    Did yours have a seam when you bought it?

    • 8.29.18
      Sarah said:

      No, they didn’t have a seam.

  28. 10.7.18
    Robyn said:

    You stated no sewing yet yours show seams. I’m confused. Did you decide to see them?

    • 10.7.18
      Sarah said:

      No, I didn’t sew them. The seams around the edges are already on the drop clothes when you buy them.

  29. 11.5.18
    Leslie said:

    I love the drop cloth curtains! I am going to use them for the first time in my living room. I just wanted to ask if when you flip over the the top to make a valance-the bottom seem is inside out?

    • 11.6.18
      Sarah said:

      I flip them so the top “flap” has the seam that is inside out.

  30. 1.10.19
    Tracy said:

    Did you wash them before hanging

    • 1.11.19
      Sarah said:

      Yes I usually do wash them first!

  31. 1.30.19
    Sue said:

    Thanks always looking for new ideas on a budget. Also love drop cloth. Now I have more wonderful ways to use it.

  32. 2.10.19
    Rebecca said:

    I bought these exact drop cloths and they have a huge seam down the middle. Do you just have that hidden in your pictures?

    • 2.10.19
      Sarah said:

      No there are no seams on mine! I know some do have them and then some do not. It’s so weird!

  33. 2.22.19
    Veronica said:

    How many drop cloths did you use?

    • 2.22.19
      Sarah said:

      I use two for one window!

      • 3.24.19
        Katie said:

        When you washed do you feel like they had a lot of pilly areas and lint???

  34. 3.24.19
    Katie said:

    When you washed do you feel like they had a lot of pilly areas and lint???

  35. 3.29.19
    Zane said:

    Would you recommend these for the bathroom? Desperately looking for farmhouse style..

    • 3.31.19
      Sarah said:

      Yeah I think they could work in a bathroom, I don’t see why not!

  36. 5.12.19
    Donna said:

    How clever.

  37. 11.3.19
    Martha said:

    How did you get the valance at top? Did you just fold the drop cloth.

    I just downsized to a one bedroom apartment from a medium size house. I am finding it’s too small and not enough windows. I’m now looking for a small house or 2 bedroom apartment. I love cross stitch and my style fits the country cottage/farmhouse decor. At I think it does.

  38. 11.19.19
    Elizabeth said:

    I know this actual blog post is over 3 years old; but I just happened across it. I love the budget-friendly ‘curtains’, but I’m also very interested in where you got your magazine holder! Thanks so much!

  39. 5.30.20
    Kelly Rachal said:

    I have seen several articles using drop cloth curtains for privacy and sun protection on outdoor patios. The curtains i have now block the sun well but dont let any breeze in. Does the drop cloth fabric breathe at all? I’d like to let the air come through the curtains. Thanks

  40. 8.27.20
    Angelika Walsh said:

    thank you so much for sharing. I love these & will make them. Also going to recover a torn up ottoman also. 🌹

  41. 12.18.20
    Melissa said:

    Can these type of curtains be used daily for opening and closing? One other individual on Pinterest made a comment that the more you use them the less nice they look. Is this true?