Search
Close this search box.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

One of the questions I get a lot over on Instagram is about our curtains in the basement. Everyone wants to know where I found them and I’m always happy to write back and share that these are simple drop cloth curtains! Today I’m excited to share my full review with you lovely folks. I’m covering everything you need to know about drop cloth curtains–from size to quality, texture, and more. Hopefully this will be helpful if you’re thinking about using them in your home!

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

Some of the links included in this post are affiliate links. Thanks so much for supporting my blog!

Before I jump into the review, I want to share how simple these curtains are. I bought my drop cloths from Home Depot. The packaging looks like this:

Drop Cloth

I started with washing and drying the drop cloths. Then I finishd it up with a bit of ironing–which is totally optional. EASY. Next I decided how much of the drop cloth I wanted to puddle on the floor and how much I wanted to fold over at the top. Once I adjusted it to my liking, I simply used drapery clip rings to hang them up, which you can find here.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

I have 7 clips (1 full package of the drapery clips) on each panel and they’re all about 9-10 inches apart for this look.

Industrial Pipe Curtain Rode

Side note–how cool is this pipe curtain rod from Target?!

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

Sooooo easy guys. Crazy easy, in fact.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

My review and thoughts:

Size

These drop cloths are 6ft x 9ft, which is HUGE compared to your normal curtain. I think this is awesome for two reasons:

1) these are perfect for large windows. The window in our master bedroom is really long and the normal curtains we had in this spot before wouldn’t cover the entire window when closed–which wasn’t ideal if you’re looking to get privacy. With the drop cloth curtains, we are able to cover the entire window at night and it’s glorious.

2) If you’re using these in a room with tall ceilings or over a door, these will definitely work for you. 9 feet equals 108 inches, which is the largest size curtain available at most stores. That means these should work for almost any window or door.

No Sewing

For me personally, one of the best things about drop cloth curtain is that there is no sewing involved at all. Zilch. Nada. They are already hemmed on the side, so these babies literally go up in minutes.

Cheap

Each drop cloth costs about $11 from Home Depot, so you’re looking at under $25 for each set. That is suuuuuper cheap and very budget friendly, which is always a big plus in my book. BUT the great part is they don’t look cheap. Right? Everyone is always so surprised to hear these are drop cloths.

Color & Texture

Over the past year I’ve really tried to avoid bright and “busy” curtains. This used to be my trademark, I loved me some crazy curtains. But since transitioning to farmhouse style I have found that white and neutral colored curtains are much more soothing to the eye and complimentary to the rest of my decor. Plus they go with everything. So I’m obviously a HUGE fan of this light creamy oatmeal color. And on top of that, the texture is really nice. They’re canvas, so that means they’re a woven cotton fabric which is heavier than your typical curtain. They aren’t going to keep all the light out when closed, but I think they do a really nice job of darkening the room when needed.

Quality

I’ve bought many curtains over the past several years. Lots and lots. And I have to say, in regard to quality, these drop cloth curtains are definitely at the top of the list. In fact, I purchased a pair of white curtains from Target about six months ago, before I knew about the magic of drop cloth curtains, and they are incredibly thin in comparison–they’re basically white sheets hanging in our window. And they just look cheap. I honestly think these drop cloth curtains look much more expensive and they’re very durable.

Drop Cloth Curtain Review

So there’s my full review of our drop cloth curtains. As you can tell I love them and I think they add lots of warmth and coziness to any room. I would definitely recommend using them if you like the look. As I mentioned earlier, mine are from Home Depot and they’re the only ones I’ve tried at this point. But Amazon does carry a large variety of drop cloths that are very similar– you can check those out here if you’re interested. Really, drop cloths are super versatile and can be used in a variety of different ways around your home–you can reupholster furniture with drop cloths, sew pillow covers, table runners, etc. You can even dye them different colors, although I’ve yet to try that out. Lots and lots of possibilities. Thanks so much for stopping by friends and be sure to let me know if you have any questions!

Everything You Need to Know About Drop Cloth Curtains

 

Leave a Comment

The Comments

  • Julie
    July 27, 2016

    Thank you! That was very helpful. I especially appreciate the pictures and link to the products you used. I will try this!

    • Sarah
      > Julie
      July 27, 2016

      Yay! So happy it was helpful Julie!

  • Cindy
    July 27, 2016

    How close together are the clips? Yours look perfect!

    • Sarah
      > Cindy
      July 27, 2016

      Thanks Glenna! I have 7 clips on each panel and they’re all about 9-10 inches apart.

  • Kellie
    July 27, 2016

    I have drop cloth curtains in my dining room that are painted some day I will post them!
    I love yours they look great!!

    • Sarah
      > Kellie
      July 27, 2016

      Yes you should definitely do a post about those, I love them!

      • Tyla
        > Sarah
        July 27, 2016

        How did you exactly fold them? I have tried this and was not successful. Is there some short of video or picture that you posted that I’m not seeing ?
        Ues, thank you for all your help your help.

  • Debbi
    July 27, 2016

    What a great look! I will try these in my new home we are building. LUV your decor and home!!!

    • Sarah
      > Debbi
      July 27, 2016

      Awesome, I’m sure you will love them as much as I do. Thanks so much Debbi!

  • Karen langford
    July 27, 2016

    Love this! Are they heavy?

    • Sarah
      > Karen langford
      July 28, 2016

      They are a bit heavier than your normal curtain, but I personally think that adds to their appeal. Thanks for stopping by Karen!

      • Karen langford
        > Sarah
        July 31, 2016

        Thanks, Sarah!

  • Susanne Stewart
    July 28, 2016

    I did this with white bedsheets and I loved the look of the folded over portion! I have changed my living room and was thinking about new curtains, I am going to do this!!

  • Sue
    July 30, 2016

    I can’t wait to try these. I have never added curtains on my large windows, because nothing I have ever found seems to work. Hope mine turns out as great as yours.

    • Sarah
      > Sue
      July 31, 2016

      Yay! I hope this works for you. Let me know how it turns out!

  • Jill
    August 1, 2016

    What’s the wall color?

  • Kristina
    August 8, 2016

    You said you washed and dried them- did you dry all the way? If so, did you notice if they shrunk up at all?

    • Sarah
      > Kristina
      August 8, 2016

      I did dry them all the way, but didn’t notice any shrinking.

  • Doreen Sulfaro
    August 9, 2016

    Sarah, your blogs are wonderful and so helpful. I love all your decorating styles and ideas. Having purchased a new home recently and changing my décor style to vintage, rustic, farmstyle, it has been sooooo helpful. 🙂 I am going to be attempting the drop cloth curtains on the door in my kitchen. Will send you pic when complete. Keep the great ideas and tips coming. xoxo

    • Sarah
      > Doreen Sulfaro
      August 9, 2016

      Thank you so much Doreen, I love hearing that my blog has been helpful to you! I’m so glad you’re here. And definitely send me a photo when you get the drop cloth up in your kitchen!

  • Transitioning to Farmhouse Style: Complete Shopping Guide - Little Vintage Nest
    August 19, 2016

    […] several of these in our home and I love them. They’re cheap, easy, and gorgeous. Check out this post to see […]

  • Donnell Magallon
    August 26, 2016

    Just recently dyed me some drop cloths for our sliding glass window curtains. Love how they turned out and you can t beat the price for sure! I had the same idea! Did you wash your drop cloths? I had bought new ones and they had the creases in in them from being folded up in the pkg washed them and then they shrunk wayyyyyy up lol Just curious how you got the big crease marks out love your blog, so glad I stumbled across it!!

    • Sarah
      > Donnell Magallon
      August 26, 2016

      Hi Donnell! I washed and ironed mine to get the creases out…I didn’t notice them shrink at all, so that’s odd yours did. But I’m glad you were able to make them work! I haven’t tried dying them yet but I want to. Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

    • Leah
      > Donnell Magallon
      January 25, 2018

      I realize I am about a year and half late on this but I just had the same problem! Washed and dried mine, went to hang them and I’d be lucky if mine are 7 feet long! So disappointing! However, I ordered mine off of Amazon so maybe it’s a different material! I’ll be going to Home Depot tomorrow and buying the exact ones as you posted in your tutorial!

      • Sherri
        > Leah
        January 30, 2018

        Oh wow…..I was just looking at them on Amazon, have them in the cart to buy…..now I’m reconsidering…..love the look but don’t want a bunch of short curtains……

        • Sarah
          > Sherri
          August 28, 2019

          Typical drop cloths from hardware stores are a cotton/polyester blend and so will not shrink. 100% cotton canvas drop cloths WILL shrink so badly you won’t be able to use them. The cotton ones will bleach, however and the polyester ones WILL NOT bleach. I learned this the hard way. I bought three sets of drop cloths before I figured it out. If you want yours very white via bleaching, get 100% cotton, but think about how much you need and adjust for inevitable shrinking by at least a foot. If you like the natural look of drop cloth (kind of a gray taupe color) then go with the polyester blend and you’ll have no issues.

        • Vikki
          > Sherri
          February 2, 2020

          I love the look and have been wanting to try it for years. I finally took the plunge and bought one 6×9 drop cloth from Lowe’s. I hung it up to get a feel for it… and it has a horizontal seam right across the middle. 😩
          It appears yours from HD do not. ??

  • Vintage Hotel Mailbox & Updated Front Room - Little Vintage Nest
    September 1, 2016

    […] this warmth it adds to this room. If you don’t know what drop cloth curtains are, check out this post and review. I’ll give you the cliffnotes: they’re super cheap and […]

  • Lisa Duty
    October 5, 2016

    Wow, these look great! I’m so glad I found you. I was just about to try some burlap curtains I found on Pinterest. I like these much better and they’re washable. I have a questions though: How heavy are they? And is that the farmhouse style for the rod and rings? I love the farmhouse style….although I’ve always enjoyed color. Recently bought a new couch….in teal….. got any ideas?

  • Robin Brooks
    December 11, 2016

    Fabulous idea!! Just completing a renovation from a barn to a house and this will be perfect!!

    • Sarah
      > Robin Brooks
      December 11, 2016

      Oh yay! Sounds like you have an awesome renovation going on Robin!

  • Christine
    December 20, 2016

    What did you use for the rod on these drop cloth curtains? Looks great!!

  • Lindsay
    December 29, 2016

    I love the curtains, I had seen this a while back and wanted to try but have not had the chance yet. Your home is beautiful. I wanted to ask if you made the cushion for the bench at the end of your bed? I love that look and I seen a tutorial but I have never used a sewing machine before. So I’m a little nervous!

    Thanks!

    • Sarah
      > Lindsay
      December 29, 2016

      Hi Lindsay! I actually bought that cushion from Pier 1, you can find it here: https://rstyle.me/n/caytnab6hgf

    • Jenn
      > Lindsay
      September 14, 2019

      Just a tip, I bought some from Lowe’s and did t realize until after I washed them that they have a big , huge seam in the middle of them. So, two smaller pieces sewed together. If I hung them, that seam would be horizontal. Just not ideal. Buy the ones Sarah suggested at Home Depot so that doesn’t happen to you! Now, I have drop cloths to use for painting, lol

  • Shelby Meckem
    December 29, 2016

    Where did you find your sign that says home? Love it!! I just made these curtains and I am obsessed. Thank you for great directions.

    • Sarah
      > Shelby Meckem
      December 29, 2016

      Hi Shelby! I’m so happy to hear you did the drop cloth curtains and love them. I’m obsessed, not sure I’ll ever go back to normal curtains. Anyway, the HOME sign was actually one of my DIY projects. Super cheap and easy. You can find my tutorial here: https://sarahjoyblog.com/diy-home-sign/

  • Lindsay Aratari
    December 30, 2016

    I love drop cloth curtains!! I made some for our dining room a few weeks ago & blogged about it too!!! They’re so easy & so pretty! I love how yours came out 🙂

  • Farmhouse Rehab: Townhouse Living Room - Little Vintage Nest
    January 4, 2017

    […] will also make a big difference. Aside from the soft white curtains I suggested above, I think drop cloth curtains would also work really well for an inexpensive […]

  • Modern Farmhouse Dining Room Makeover - Little Vintage Nest
    January 9, 2017

    […] out our old curtains for drop cloth curtains. (You can get more info about those in my full review here.) We also raised the curtain rod up higher, just to create the illusion of a taller window. I love, […]

  • Alicia
    January 29, 2017

    Love this post! I ordered the clips and will go to Home Depot soon!
    Where is that love seat or chair and a half from! I LOVE that too!!

  • Homepage
    February 16, 2017

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More here: sarahjoyblog.com/drop-cloth-curtain-review/ […]

  • Drop cloth project ideas {the best of decorating on a budget}
    March 12, 2017

    […] And if all else fails, make some curtains. This very well might be the most common, but it’s still one of the best drop cloth project ideas that almost anyone can do. […]

  • Farmhouse Rehab: Budget Friendly Spring Refresh
    March 27, 2017

    […] New Curtains: You can barely see just a bit of Michelle’s curtains, which look to be a shade of dark purple. I’d suggest switching these out for drop cloth curtains, which are super affordable and perfect of the farmhouse look. See my post about drop cloth curtains here. […]

  • Katie
    April 5, 2017

    I just got these and bought the exact same ones and both of them have a giant seam going through the middle. Do yours as well? I couldn’t tell from your photo. If they did how did you hide it?

  • My Top 5 Most FAQ's
    April 25, 2017

    […] wrote a whole post about these, which you can find here if you’re interested in learning more about these magical […]

  • Elizabeth
    May 12, 2017

    I just bought a ton of drop cloths to do this project but I bought the 10 oz heavy duty stuff thinking that it would be better for “room darkening” curtains (I live in AZ and try to keep the house as cool as possibly by keeping the light out and curtains closed during the summer months). The 10 oz fabric is extremely stiff though and doesn’t fall very nicely. Does the 8 oz do a pretty good job at keeping the light out or is it too thin for my needs?

    Thanks you!

    • jill
      > Elizabeth
      October 13, 2017

      Hello, What did you end up doing? I purchased the 10oz ones as well. I am washing one now and I added softner. Hoping that will help.

  • Cozy Farmhouse Style Window Seat
    June 13, 2017

    […] I had the hardest time finding a curtain rod for this giant window. I actually found this one on Craigslist and then painted it white. That sucker is solid wood and huge! I also DIY-ed the curtains, those are just easy peasy drop cloth curtains, which you can read all about in my review here. […]

  • Farmhouse Style Front Room Makeover
    June 27, 2017

    […] change I made in here was to add drop cloth curtains to this window. Again, this is something I’ve been wanting to do forrrrrrrevver but never got […]

  • Step by Step Drop Cloth Curtain Tutorial
    July 28, 2017

    […] crazy affordable, but they look great in any room and they’re super simple to do. I wrote a full review of these already, but today I’m sharing a step by step drop cloth curtain tutorial that shows […]

  • D
    August 11, 2017

    Everytime I close or open my curtains, they shed.. Lots of particles in the air. They are Lowes brand. Does this brand from Home Depot do the same?
    Thanks

    • Sarah
      > D
      August 11, 2017

      oh no! I got mine from Home Depot and they don’t do that. Did you wash them first?

  • Colette Seguin-Palmer
    September 15, 2017

    I just finished my drop cloth curtains and they look so rich in my living room. We used galvanized pipes used for gas fittings that we painted black and used plumbing fittings for the industrial look. My curtains fit in so well with my farmhouse look. My floors are barn board look and the curtains look perfect with them. My next project is doing a faux beam between the kitchen and living room.

    • Sarah
      > Colette Seguin-Palmer
      September 17, 2017

      Oh wow Colette, your home sounds amazing. I’m glad you like the drop cloth curtains!

  • Cindy
    October 3, 2017

    How did you fold these at the top?

  • Claire
    December 9, 2017

    OK I have seen this tutorial everywhere and decided to do it. I bought several drop cloths from Home Depot. They all have a seam right slap across the middle. In every tutorial, nobody mentions this seam. How is it that every single pair I bought happens to have this, but nobody else’s does??

    • Sarah
      > Claire
      December 10, 2017

      Shoot! I’m sorry Claire, I’ve never had a seam in mine but I know others have. Maybe it was just that batch. Can you take them back and try a few more? Sorry, I know that’s a total pain!

      • Claire
        > Sarah
        February 8, 2018

        It is a pain! I’ve even tried Lowe’s. And all stores within 100 miles lol. Which state are you located? I have some family scattered and I’m that desperate, I will ask them to buy them and ship them to me! Ha ha I have just wanted this look for so long.

    • Tammy
      > Claire
      March 29, 2018

      I’m having the same problem with the seam. Please let me know if anyone finds them without this. I’m in Cincinnati,Ohio.
      Thank you

      • Sarah
        > Tammy
        April 1, 2018

        I’m so sorry! I haven’t bought any with seams and I just bought two more drop cloths within the last month. I don’t know why some have seams and some don’t 🙁

  • Trish
    January 17, 2018

    Love these! I’ve been searching for curtains for my living room for months and just couldn’t seem to find the right style. I came across your blog and LOVE this idea. It was super easy ( and inexpensive). I finally have the look I was going for!
    Thank you!

    • Sarah
      > Trish
      January 18, 2018

      Oh yay!! So glad this was helpful for you Trish. xo

  • Maria
    February 14, 2018

    I loved the post and the idea!! I have only one question, the weight of the drop cloth. I’ve seen online from 6 to 9oz.
    I am planing to make curtains for my back porch and I am not sure which one would be the best.
    Any suggestions? Thanks

  • Dining room additions – Southernlacedlynn
    May 11, 2018

    […] Drop cloth curtains […]

  • Raine
    August 28, 2018

    Did yours have a seam when you bought it?

    • Sarah
      > Raine
      August 29, 2018

      No, they didn’t have a seam.

  • Robyn
    October 7, 2018

    You stated no sewing yet yours show seams. I’m confused. Did you decide to see them?

    • Sarah
      > Robyn
      October 7, 2018

      No, I didn’t sew them. The seams around the edges are already on the drop clothes when you buy them.

  • 36 DIY Living Room Decor Ideas On A Budget
    October 21, 2018

    […] littlevintagenest […]

  • Leslie
    November 5, 2018

    I love the drop cloth curtains! I am going to use them for the first time in my living room. I just wanted to ask if when you flip over the the top to make a valance-the bottom seem is inside out?

    • Sarah
      > Leslie
      November 6, 2018

      I flip them so the top “flap” has the seam that is inside out.

  • Tracy
    January 10, 2019

    Did you wash them before hanging

    • Sarah
      > Tracy
      January 11, 2019

      Yes I usually do wash them first!

  • Sue
    January 30, 2019

    Thanks always looking for new ideas on a budget. Also love drop cloth. Now I have more wonderful ways to use it.

  • Rebecca
    February 10, 2019

    I bought these exact drop cloths and they have a huge seam down the middle. Do you just have that hidden in your pictures?

    • Sarah
      > Rebecca
      February 10, 2019

      No there are no seams on mine! I know some do have them and then some do not. It’s so weird!

  • Veronica
    February 22, 2019

    How many drop cloths did you use?

    • Sarah
      > Veronica
      February 22, 2019

      I use two for one window!

      • Katie
        > Sarah
        March 24, 2019

        When you washed do you feel like they had a lot of pilly areas and lint???

  • Katie
    March 24, 2019

    When you washed do you feel like they had a lot of pilly areas and lint???

  • Zane
    March 29, 2019

    Would you recommend these for the bathroom? Desperately looking for farmhouse style..

    • Sarah
      > Zane
      March 31, 2019

      Yeah I think they could work in a bathroom, I don’t see why not!

  • Donna
    May 12, 2019

    How clever.

  • Martha
    November 3, 2019

    How did you get the valance at top? Did you just fold the drop cloth.

    I just downsized to a one bedroom apartment from a medium size house. I am finding it’s too small and not enough windows. I’m now looking for a small house or 2 bedroom apartment. I love cross stitch and my style fits the country cottage/farmhouse decor. At I think it does.

  • Elizabeth
    November 19, 2019

    I know this actual blog post is over 3 years old; but I just happened across it. I love the budget-friendly ‘curtains’, but I’m also very interested in where you got your magazine holder! Thanks so much!

  • Kelly Rachal
    May 30, 2020

    I have seen several articles using drop cloth curtains for privacy and sun protection on outdoor patios. The curtains i have now block the sun well but dont let any breeze in. Does the drop cloth fabric breathe at all? I’d like to let the air come through the curtains. Thanks

  • Angelika Walsh
    August 27, 2020

    thank you so much for sharing. I love these & will make them. Also going to recover a torn up ottoman also. 🌹

  • Melissa
    December 18, 2020

    Can these type of curtains be used daily for opening and closing? One other individual on Pinterest made a comment that the more you use them the less nice they look. Is this true?

  • Jacqui Goodman
    April 10, 2021

    I love your idea for the curtains! I’m wondering if they could be dyed since they’re cotton. Any info would be appreciated

  • Jenny
    June 15, 2022

    I bought the drip cloths at Home Depot. They have a seam right in the middle. That was not addressed.