Review of the Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint & Wax

Happpppppy Monday guys! Today’s post is a fun one because I am doing a full review of the Magnolia Home chalk style paint and wax from Joanna Gaines. Eeeeek! You guys know how much I love all things Joanna Gaines AND chalk paint, so I’ve been anxiously awaiting my chance to try this stuff out. Well last week I was lucky enough to receive a sample of the paint from the wonderful folks at KILZ and I didn’t waste any time trying it out. I’m so excited to share my full review of both the chalk paint as well as the dark and clear wax. Plus I’m giving my thoughts on how this compares to Annie Sloan and Rust-Oleum chalk paint. We have a lot to get to, so let’s jump into it!

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

I received the color shiplap (perfect for me, right?!) along with the clear and dark wax. It was perfect timing because I just found this really unique vintage chair that I was planning to freshen up with a new paint color.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints! A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints! A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

The beautiful thing about chalk paint is you don’t have to do much at all to prepare the surface of your furniture for the paint. I didn’t do any sanding or prep work before painting. All I did was wipe down the chair with a damp rag to remove any dust and dirt. Then it was ready for paint! Here’s how the chair looked after the first coat of paint:

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Review of the Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint

Thoughts after the first coat of paint:

  • The first thing I noticed is the paint went on very smooth. It wasn’t thick or heavy at all, which is common with chalk paints.
  • A little paint goes a long way. I didn’t need much on my brush to cover large sections of the chair.
  • There was definitely no need to water it down, like I typically do when I use Annie Sloan chalk paint.
  • I felt like the paint was very pigmented, especially for a white paint.
  • The first coat gave decent coverage. You can still see some of the imperfections on the seat of the chair, so a second coat was definitely needed.

Now ready for the second coat:

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Thoughts after the second coat of paint:

  • The stuff dries super quick. I’d say it was about 10 minutes before I was ready to paint the second coat.
  • It dries to a matte finish, but it’s not rough or scratchy to the touch at all.
  • I was impressed with the added coverage on the second coat. It covered up all the imperfections in the chair and went on really fast.
  • As you can see in the close-up shot, the paint is not streaky at all. After the second coat I had a very smooth, full coverage finish.
  • I noticed the paint didn’t “ball up” and get too thick on the second coat, which can often happen with chalk paint.

Now onto testing the dark wax:

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Dark wax is used to give old pieces like this a vintage, aged look. Typically it’s perfect for furniture that has lots of details and curves, because you want to use the dark wax to accentuate those areas and give them more character.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

I started by putting a small amount of the wax in a plastic cup and stirring it around a bit with a spoon to soften it up. This wax is drier than others I’ve worked with, but it was easy to apply. I just put a small amount on a clean rag and then started buffing it into the curves and crevices of the chair.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints! A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

I worked in small sections along the top of the chair, buffing in the wax as I went to give the curves and details more of a vintage look. The goal here is definitely not perfection, so I applied the wax heavier in some spots and lighter in others to give it more of a natural look. I thought the wax was really smooth and very forgiving. If I put too much in an area, I was able to easily buff it off so it wasn’t too dark, which was awesome.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Next up I tried out the clear wax, which is meant to be used over the top of the paint, as well as any dark wax to seal and protect the furniture.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

I was seriously so impressed with this clear wax. I applied it to the whole chair and it went on in minutes. I just buffed it in and wiped away the excess with a clean rag. It did not change the appearance of the paint color, or yellow it, like a lot of clear waxes tend to do. I thought it was easy to work with, and it went on like butter. And the best part was the velvety finish. The chair is so soft to the touch, it actually feels like I used poly to seal the chair. I am really LOVING this stuff. Here’s the finished look:

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

I only used the dark wax on the top of the chair, then I brought it down on the spindles slightly and blended it in as I went further down. I didn’t want dark wax on the whole chair, as it does darken it up quite a bit (obviously!) but I think I was able to blend it out well enough to make it work. Then I did a bit of light distressing with a sanding block.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Overall thoughts on the Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax:

Overall I am really impressed with this chalk paint and wax. I love that the paint is not super thick, which makes it really easy to use, and the application was super smooth. I was able to cover up the imperfections on the chair with just two coats, which gave a soft yet full coverage look. And since the paint is highly pigmented, a little really goes a long way. I think one quart would last through several projects. I also liked how thin the paint was, so there was no need to water it down.

How does this paint compare to Rust-Oleum and Annie Sloan Chalk Paint?

Compared to the other two chalk paints I have used regularly in the past, I’d say this is definitely my favorite. And here’s a few reasons why:

  • This paint is a thinner consistency than the Annie Sloan chalk paint, which is very thick and heavy. I found this paint MUCH easier to apply and there was no need to water it down, which is what I always do with Annie Sloan chalk paint.
  • I love that the finish is matte, but it’s not dry or chalky at all compared to Annie Sloan paint.
  • It’s more pigmented than the Rust-Oleum chalk paint, which goes on a bit streaky even after two coats. The Magnolia Home chalk paint definitely offers more coverage with each coat.
  • There are 44 colors to choose from with the Magnolia Home chalk style paint line (18 of them are available at Target), which is a massive collection. That easily beats out the skimpy color selection from Rust-Oleum and that’s even more options than Annie Sloan chalk paint, which offers 37 choices.
  • This paint is sold for $32 for a 1-quart can, which is comparable to the price of Annie Sloan chalk paint. Rust-Oleum is obviously the cheapest option of the three by far, at about half the cost.

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

That’s it for my review of the Magnolia Home chalk style paint and wax! I love how my little antique chair turned out, and I’m so excited to use this paint more. I’ve done a lot of chalk painting over the years and I think it’s safe to say this has definitely become my new favorite. JoJo did awesome with this paint! And I love that it’s now available at Target. SCORE.

Well I really hope you found this review helpful. Thanks so much for dropping by the blog today. Be sure to let me know if you have any questions. You guys know I always love to chat.

A few other posts you might enjoy:

Annie Sloan Chalk Paint vs Rust-Oleum Chalked Paint

Honest Review of My Chalk Painted Bathroom Vanities

My Top 10 Chalk Painting Tips & Tricks

pin for later

A Full Review of Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint and Wax. Demo and comparison with other chalk paints!

Leave a Comment

The Comments

  • Heather
    October 9, 2017

    I am a chalk paint addict. I’ve been wanting to try the Magnolia line but haven’t been able to get my hands on any yet. Thank you so much for this review. Your chair came out beautiful!!! Now I really can’t wait to try this paint!

    • Erma
      > Heather
      September 26, 2018

      I just started painting with Anne S chalk paints and it’s true not to happy how my piece furniture turned out… will Reconsider using JoJo paints… Do you recommend using JOJo paints in the bathroom?

  • Lorri Rauscher
    October 9, 2017

    Thanks for yr review of this paint…now the problem is to get this paint..sometimes they dont ship to Canada. Lucky you for getting free stuff. Love the way the rocking chair turned out.😊

  • Angela Servello
    October 9, 2017

    Great post! I was really confused about what chalk paint to use, too many to choose from. Thanks for the review it really does help make my decision easier. Have a blessed day. Angela

  • Anne Gillespie
    October 9, 2017

    Have you ever tried “Little Billy Goat” chalk paint. How does it compare?

  • Adriane
    October 9, 2017

    I am getting ready to refresh a crib for our new granddaughter. Are the ingredients in this chalk paint safe for nursery use?

    • Pat
      > Adriane
      February 7, 2021

      Can you use this chalk paint on kitchen cabinets

  • Amy
    October 9, 2017

    I’m excited to try the Magnolia line of chalk paint! Did it make a mess when you sanded it with your sanding block? I have always used Annie Sloan. Lately I tried Rustoleum. One thing about Rustoleum that I’m not liking at all is how it makes such a huge chalky mess when I distress with a sand block. By the time I’m done there’s a chalk powder all over me, the projects, and the area around. I had to start bringing my project outside to sand. That’s a pain. So if the Magnolia line doesn’t do this that’s a huge plus in my book!

  • Deanna
    October 9, 2017

    Turned out great! Thanks for the review because I was wondering how it would match up to the Rustoleum. Just an FYI….Miller paint stores carry the Magnolia line and will be getting the chalk paint soon. Not sure if they are only in the Pacific NW or not. Also, there are some ACE hardware stores that carry the Magnolia paint too.
    Thanks again!

  • whitney
    October 9, 2017

    What Wax or sealer is good to use with Rustoleum linen white? I have some annie sloan clear soft wax. I am scared it will turn the piece yellow or It may not turn out well because of mixing brands. I have only ever used the wax with annie sloan brand chalk paint. Any advice? Thanks!!

  • Renee S
    October 9, 2017

    Love it!!!!!

  • Kimberly
    October 9, 2017

    love how it came out! great details about the chalk paint. Kim

  • dina
    October 9, 2017

    Thanks Sarah for the insight. It looks Beautiful!!! & that chair is soooo cute!! Bless you

  • Lelanie
    October 9, 2017

    It turned out so pretty!

  • Julie Briones
    October 9, 2017

    Great review, Sarah. Always love your reviews… they are very helpful! Thank you!

  • Sherri
    October 9, 2017

    I really love how that little chair turned out! Beautiful!

  • Laura
    October 9, 2017

    Thanks so much for your review. This helped me out since I am wanting to try chalk painting. Just one question, I am wanting to paint my master bathroom cabinets that
    are stained. Can and should you use chalk paint on cabinets that are in a bathroom with the possibility of them getting water on them? Your
    little chair is so cute. It looks so nice with the new paint.

  • Steve Robinson
    October 9, 2017

    Thanks for the review, Sarah. Really informative and helpful. I have completed several chalk paint projects using Annie Sloan, and based on your side-by-side with AS and Rustoleum, I plan to try Rustoleum for my next project. Reading the comments thus far it seems like Magnolia is hard to get right now and not available here in Canada, but once it becomes available, I look forward to giving it a try as well.

  • susan milazzo
    October 9, 2017

    Hi Sarah,
    Thanks for you review on the Magnolia Chalk paint. I love everything Joanna Gaines! I have used AS paint in the past. But now I think I might give this a try. I just purchased an antique dresser for my guest room. I’ll keep you posted.
    Love your blog!!!!
    Sue

  • Chels Rief
    October 13, 2017

    It looks so good! I love a good white chalk paint on a chair. We did 6 chairs in white chalk paint and I believe we used Rust-Oleum and it turned out really well! I loved your insta-story for this too! So fun to watch it being done! 🙂

    • Sarah
      > Chels Rief
      October 13, 2017

      Thanks friend, I love how it turned out. And so glad you enjoyed my little story on IG! 🙂

  • Tonie
    March 3, 2018

    Thanks so much for the tutorial! Could you please update about where, other than from the website, the Magnolia chalk paint can be purchased? Thanks so much!

  • Christine
    March 27, 2018

    Just curious if you’ve used the Kilz Chalk style paint yet. I’m wondering if it’s exactly the same as the Magnolia Home? I’m currently using it and I’m not sold. I usually make my own which doesn’t come out too bad, but I thought I’d order the Kilz hoping to keep the same consistency as I am painting kitchen cabinets. It’s a fairly large project to have to keep mixing up pints on my own, almost impossible to get the same results on consistency every time.

    I’m finding the Kilz to be streaky, even after 2 coats. Very smooth, which I like, but I see every brush stroke so far. I also had a hard time getting it to stick to laminate even after sanding. I purchased the paint at Walmart, so I might just return it.

    Thought I might see if you’ve tried it or not. Take care!

    • Sarah
      > Christine
      March 27, 2018

      I haven’t tried the Kilz chalk style paint yet, I actually didn’t even know they had their own! I need to test it out. But I agree with you, painting your kitchen cabinets is a huge job so you might want to keep the same consistency throughout the project. I’d give Rust-Oleum a shot, I love their chalked paint line although the color selection is limited.

  • Anna
    April 13, 2018

    I just got a free sample size yesterday of Magnolia Home paint so I can’t give a full review since I’ve yet to try it on my project. But I must say your project is gorgeous!

    Howevvvvvvverrrrrr……. I was disappointed to find that you can ONLY get this paint in her colors!!! You cannot have any other color from another brand (say Benjamin Moore, Sherwin Williams, etc.) mixed into her paint. Now I find that rather disappointing because if I did like her paint but was set on another color from another brand, I’m out of luck.

    Sure Magnolia Homes has some beautiful colors but I was hoping to try her paint (to see how it worked) but using a color of my own choice (in this case I was hoping to color match an Annie Sloan color).

    If sticking to the selection of paints she’s got is OK for your project, then this isn’t an issue 😉 But if you’ve got hopes of color matching to any other brand….that’s a “no go”.

  • Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint Colors + Overview
    April 18, 2018

    […] addicts. HECK YES. I absolutely love this chalk paint for lots of reasons, you can check out my full review here to see why, but I think the best part of all is that it comes in 44 beautiful colors. I thought it […]

  • Robin Dickson
    April 18, 2018

    Sarah thank you so much for this review. I have bought Annie Sloan for years and was a die hard fan. I had tried others and they just did not hold up as far as wear. I had picked up 3 of the Magnolia colors at Target the other day and have been eager to try them out but haven’t had the time. But I do have the pieces of furniture 😂 I’m just glad to know that if I run out or need paint I will not have to wait a week to 10 days to have it shipped anymore🙌🏻 Once again you have come through, thank you for all you do❤️

    • Sarah
      > Robin Dickson
      April 18, 2018

      Oh that’s exciting Robin! Three pieces of furniture waiting to be painted is a good place to be in–I need to go picking for a few more myself. What colors did you pick up??

  • Rust-Oleum Chalky Spray Paint vs Regular Chalk Paint
    May 28, 2018

    […] Review of the Magnolia Home Chalk Style Paint & Wax […]

  • Dora
    June 9, 2018

    I just painted a bed frame with Magnolia chalk paint and thought the coverage was excellent as was the wax. The wax brush and flat 2 1/2 paint brush were terrible. The first few strokes left brush hairs on the bed when I was painting it. The wax brush was worse. Left little hairs all over the bed when applying the wax. Definitely will use Annie Sloan brushes next project!

  • Angie Walters
    June 16, 2018

    Could you tell me what tone the shiplap color is in the chalk style paint? I need to order it online and I’m not sure if it leans to a gray? Or is it just a creamier color? Otherwise I might just have to go with white. Thank you so much for the great review!

    • Marilee Toso
      > Angie Walters
      July 11, 2018

      I’m in the process of painting my kitchen upper cabinets. I bought ShipLap and I love it. It’s a gorgeous white! No yellow, blue or green undertones. Its very white, not like the sample pics. I am glad I didn’t get the True White. It would have been very stark. Hope this helps. I’m loving this product, there are absolutely no visible brush marks. This is my first time using chalk paint. I’m sold on Joanne’s line.

  • Elaine
    July 13, 2018

    I would like to know if it’s possible to buy some in Canada?
    Very interesting product (I would love to try it)!
    Nice job!

  • Kim
    September 26, 2018

    Hello Sarah! Thank you so much for your review. I stumbled across your blog when googling brands of chalk paint. I am wondering if you have ever used the chalk paint brand, Farmhouse Paint? I love the color choices and am curious about the quality. I am also wondering after reading your post regarding your bathroom vanities if you would recommend steering clear of chalk paint for kitchen cupboards? I have never used chalk paint on anything as of yet, but will be soon. I look forward to any information you and your readers can share. I also plan to subscribe to your blog immediately following this comment. I have never subscribed to a blog before as the time I have available to spend online is limited. I’m in the middle of some updates myself! Viewing your post regarding your trip to Uganda clinched it for me. You are obviously a person of substance, not just the superficial. While I love the decorating ideas and makeovers, that speaks volumes to me. Thank you for sharing!

  • Cath
    January 1, 2019

    Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m grateful to find your blog! I’m new to chalk paint. Could you recommend a paintbrush please. 😊

  • Stefanie
    April 30, 2019

    Hi- for painting the chair what size brush did you use?? Doing the same project at home right now

  • Gail Thomas
    November 15, 2019

    Thank you so much for this review. I just finished chalk painting a curio cabinet with Annie Sloan, as I had heard that was the best. You are correct, it does thicken up. And the convenience of Target is a plus for me. I am anxious to try it on some antique headboards. Does Target sell her line of paint brushes as well?

  • Kelly Smith
    February 8, 2020

    I am SOOOO grateful for this review❣❣❣
    I have used Annie Sloan for several years and loved it. I agree with the thickness of the paint tho …thick. I have never tried the Rust-oleum brand, however a dear friend bought me Dixie Belle clear wax (after I ran out of the AS) and after using it on a few projects, I was very disappointed with the finished product. I felt all of my prep work was wasted because it left almost a rubbery-like texture; not at all the beautiful velvety texture I was used to with AS. In fact, I was so disappointed that I actually went on a hiatus from painting for a few months…I quickly lost interest.
    NOW…thanks to your review, I am SO EAGER to try the Magnolia brand. Yeayyyy!! Super excited to begin projects again!!! Thank you again for sharing.

  • Florence
    March 15, 2020

    I’m doing over an antique secretary desk and want to use chalk paint. I like your review comments and would like a little more help with this project. Choosing the color has been my first dilemma to go with an oak bedroom set (desk will be in master bedroom) and light neutral grey walls. I’m most concerned with the oak furniture and the desk color. Any thoughts would be great……Florence

  • julie desantis
    March 29, 2020

    I love this chalk paint, and would love to do the oak surround of my fireplace. my trim in the rest of my house is wood, so i dont want to do stark white, more of a cream or beigey color. what do you suggest?

  • Nicole Masullo
    June 13, 2021

    I love Magnolia chalk paint and have painted several pieces but I am disappointed there is no good “off white”. I’m going to try mixing shiplap and soft landing. Have ever mixed colors?

  • Joanne Lee
    June 14, 2021

    Is Magnolia Home ever coming to Australia. We are hugely invested in home ownership, DYI and renovating in this country. It would be great to have some of these products here in Oz. Regards Jo
    Melbourne, Australia

  • Gwen Gordon
    March 29, 2022

    This project was my first experience with chalk paint. The paint and clear wax was fairly easy to apply however the accent dark wax was a nightmare. Very dry and beaded up. I tried massaging it with a spoon but it still did not apply well.

  • Louis Minter
    August 28, 2022

    This manufacturer has quite some nerve…
    This is chalk-style paint; it is not chalk paint – very carefully worded…

    What it is, is your normal latex-based emulsion paint with some cheap calcium carbonate chucked in, and charged the same price as genuine chalk paint. You could literally make this paint yourself by buying some ordinary matt emulsion, and stirring in some calcium carbonate powder.

    AS chalk paint – and all the others – are the price they are because that’s how much they cost to get right, *without* using plastic. They also have negligible environmental impact whereas this stuff is still the largest single source of micro-plastic pollution—1.9 million tons (58%) of all plastics deposited into the world’s oceans are from plastic-based paints.

    This stuff meanwhile, cloaking itself in the respectability of a more ‘natural’ kind of paint, and charging you for the pleasure.

    Sorry, not a jolly comment at all, and no shade meant towards you at all, but the manufacturers are treating its consumers (and the planet) very poorly indeed here…

  • Tara Doster
    July 18, 2023

    Hi how did you apply the clear wax? How long did you wait before you removed it. What did you use to remove it?
    Thanks
    Tara