Search
Close this search box.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners

Oh man. I think I’m in a bit of a carb como after all the Super Bowl shenanigans last night. Why do I always go overboard?! Eeeeesh. I’m moving a little slow today, but I hope you’re feeling bright eyed and bushy tailed this morning–ready to take on a fresh week! Today I’m excited to share a full review of our Walmart recliners. We bought a pair of these recliners in the color beige in December and every single day since then I’ve received emails and DMs with questions about them! And I totally understand why. Finding a good looking recliner that doesn’t break the bank is TOUGH business. My husband kept begging me to switch out our old chairs for recliners, but I never could find any I loved that didn’t also cost a ton of money. So when I stumbled on these from Walmart I was instantly in love. They met everything on our wish list: 1) good looking and matches our style 2) larger than most similar recliners on the market 3) very affordable. It was a magic combo! We’ve been using them every day for almost two months now, so I figured that was enough time to share a review and answer the most popular questions I’ve had about these recliners.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs. Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs. Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

Top 10 Most Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to put them together?

Yes, each recliner comes in a large box and there are two separate pieces we had to put together. But it was super easy and only took about 15 minutes per chair.

Do they rock or swivel?

Nope, there is no rocking or swiveling with these chairs.

Are they sturdy?

Yes! That was something we were really concerned about with buying them online and not trying them out first–especially given the price. But I’ve been pleasantly surprised. They don’t feel flimsy or cheap at all. You would never guess when you sit in these or see them in person that they were only $200.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

My lace up pillows are from The Vintage Songbird shop.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

Are they a good recliner for a large man? My husband is 5'11, 200 pounds and he loves these recliners. They're much bigger than most good looking recliners we found on the market, so they're plenty of room for a larger man. They're actually the same size of the chairs we used to have in our living room. Are they comfortable? Yes! After using them every single day for two months I can honestly say they are comfortable. I'm actually sitting in one right now to type of this post! They're great reclined and great as a normal chair too. The only issue I've had is that when I'm fully reclined there is no head support. As you can probably tell from the back of the chair, there is no extra padding for a head pillow or anything like that. So I like to just put a small pillow under my head when I'm fully reclined because I feel a little more comfortable that way. It is a bit of a pain, but it's really not a big deal and that's honestly the only complaint I have about these chair. Would you buy them again? 100% YES. I even told my husband that I'd buy these new every few years if we needed to. Obviously we've only had them two months, so I can't say yet how they'll hold up over years of use, but even if we had to re-purchase them every other year I would do it just because they're so darn affordable. You can by five of these chairs for what the average recliner costs from somewhere like Pottery Barn.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

Does the fabric stain easily?

We haven’t had any major accidents on these chairs yet (thank goodness!) but there have been smudges of chocolate and a few other random things like juice spills. I can say these chairs spot clean easily with a hot soapy rag. They’re definitely better than my white Ikea sofas, which show dirt and stains super easily.

Did we use anything like Scotch Guard on them?

No we didn’t and I don’t think it’s necessary. I think they’ve already been treated with something to protect the fabric.

Do they feel stiff?

This one is kinda tricky to answer because I think we all have different definitions of what’s stiff or soft when it comes to furniture. But in my opinion these are not stiff at all. They are firm, but not too hard if that makes sense. The cushion definitely gives when you sit on it and it’s even a little bouncy.

How far back do they recline?

They go back so far that you’re laying almost flat when they are fully reclined. You can also recline them only partially out, so that your legs are out but the back is up straight–that’s how I use them out of the time.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

Are they a good recliner for a large man?

My husband is 5’11, 200 pounds and he loves these recliners. There is plenty of room for a larger man.

Are they comfortable?

Yes! After using them every single day for two months I can honestly say they are comfortable. I’m actually sitting in one right now to type of this post! They’re great reclined and great as a normal chair too. The only issue I’ve had is that when I’m fully reclined there is no head support. As you can see on the back of the chair, there is no extra padding for a head pillow which you sometimes see with recliners. So I prefer to just put a small pillow under my head when I’m fully reclined because I feel a little more comfortable that way. That’s honestly the only complaint I have about these chairs.

Would you buy them again?

100% YES. I even told my husband that I’d buy these new every few years if we needed to. Obviously we’ve only had them two months, so I can’t say yet how they’ll hold up over years of use, but even if we had to re-purchase them every other year I would do it just because they’re so darn affordable. You can by five of these chairs for what the average recliner costs from somewhere like Pottery Barn.

Review of Our Walmart Recliners. Living room decor inspiration with affordable armchairs.

Well I hope that review helps! I know buying furniture online is tough when you can’t see and feel it, but I have not been disappointed with these recliners. I’ll definitely keep you all updated on how they hold up over time. And please let me know if there are any other questions I didn’t cover in this post. I tried to focus on the most popular questions I’ve been getting recently, but if there’s something I missed let me now! xo

More similar posts you might like:

Gorgeous Farmhouse Style Lighting from Wal-Mart

Floating Shelves in the Breakfast Nook

Amazing Finds from TJ Maxx

Sources:

Leave a Comment

The Comments

  • Velda
    February 4, 2019

    Is the cushion cover on the seat removeable and washable?

    • Sarah
      > Velda
      February 4, 2019

      No, it is not.

  • kimberly
    February 4, 2019

    great review! thinking of buying one for my hubby. he’ll love kt and it’ll work with my decor. Beautiful chairs! kim xx

  • Wendy
    February 4, 2019

    Where did you get the blush flowers in the toolbox???

    • Sarah
      > Wendy
      February 4, 2019

      Hi Wendy, those are from Michaels.

  • Diania Abernathy
    February 4, 2019

    Could you please address how easy/difficult it is to make them recline. Is there a lever or do you just push on the arms? Is it difficult to closed the leg part when getting up?

    • Sarah
      > Diania Abernathy
      February 4, 2019

      such a good question and I should have addressed that. There is no lever, so you do have to push back to recline these chairs. I find it to be pretty easy, but if you have any back issues it might be more challenging. And it’s not difficult to close the legs. In fact, I think it’s easier than most recliners I’ve sat in.

  • Martha
    February 4, 2019

    I have the same question as Diania about how easy is to recline. Is there a leaver or do you use your arms. Love, love your blog. Can’t wait to hear from you.

    Thanks,
    Martha

    • Sarah
      > Martha
      February 4, 2019

      that’s a great question! There is no lever, so you have to push back to recline the chairs. It’s pretty easy, but if you have back issues it could be more challenging.

  • Martha
    February 4, 2019

    Sorry I didn’t add these questions to my previous post. I have 2 questions about your blog on the floating shelves in the Breakfast Nook post. Your lighting fixture is it hot wired or battery and where can I find it and the Bakery sign.

    Again thanks so much,
    Martha

    • Sarah
      > Martha
      February 4, 2019

      HI Martha, that light is actually just a faux light about the shelves. It’s not hard wired! We had a puck light in there for a bit, but I took it out bc we never used it. And the Bakery sign was just a random find at a local boutique! It’s just a reproduction, so you might be able to find one online somewhere.

  • Denise Thomasson
    February 4, 2019

    Thanks so much for the amazing review!!! One question… Do you have a cat, one that still has their toenails? Some fabrics aren’t kitty friendly and snag 😢 Thanks so much and have a blessed day!

    • Sarah
      > Denise Thomasson
      February 4, 2019

      I don’t have a cat, but I could see these chairs possibly snagging kitty toenails. The fabric is not smooth like my Ikea sofas, it has more texture.

  • Melissa Filson
    February 4, 2019

    These chairs look fabulous and it’s great to know that you recommend them! When we’re able to replace our living room furniture one of these is definitely on my wish list!! Thank you for sharing where your lace up ticking pillows came from too! I’ve been eyeing those in your posts and kept meaning to ask about them…soooo cute!!! I have a slight obsession with ticking and grain stripe 💕

    • Sarah
      > Melissa Filson
      February 4, 2019

      Oh i’m right there with you Melissa, I’m all about ticking stripe!

  • Gayle rexroad
    February 4, 2019

    Hello Sarah,
    First I want to say how much I love and appreciate you sharing your home with all of us.
    You have such a talent for displaying your furniture and accessories. Love Love Love your entire home!
    My questions I have for you. First your end table with magazine rack between the two new rockers. May I ask where did you purchase the table. Also I am trying to do a make over in my family room and want to buy slip covers for my couch. Could you recommend a company that has a nice selection with a good quality material and good price. I would appreciate any advise you could give me. And also I have a blank wall behind my couch with nothing on it. What would be your advise on something large to go behind the couch..I do not want a mirror, thinking of the country/shabby farmhouse look!!! Thank you so much and look forward to hearing from you.

    • Sarah
      > Gayle rexroad
      February 4, 2019

      Hi Gayle, I actually found that little table at Goodwill for $5 and I just painted it white. Easy peasy! Unfortunately I do not have any recommendations for slipcovers–our Ikea couches came with the slipcovers so I haven’t had to buy any yet. Sorry I can’t be more help in that area! And lastly, I would suggest doing a large gallery wall above your sofa. You could use large antique frames, signs, family photos, and whatever else you like. I have a post on a gallery wall I did a few years ago if you need an idea: https://sarahjoyblog.com/farmhouse-style-gallery-wall-spring/

      And here’s a post about the photo gallery wall we currently have in that spot: https://sarahjoyblog.com/how-to-hang-a-photo-gallery-wall/

  • Mary
    February 4, 2019

    The chairs look so great in your charming house ❣️
    I have a rocker recliner that my Dad bought me for my first baby (she is 32). I used it a lot with all 4 of my now grown up babies and puppies !
    I have had it recovered twice over the years … but the mechanism inside is still 100 %.
    So sometimes a little more expensive chair can also be a good investment 👍.
    Replacing broken down furniture is easy because it’s quickly picked up by my trash company, but I always feel bad knowing I am adding to the landfill 🤔…. even though we have lots of open land here in California. Just something to think about:-)
    Love your blog, Sarah ❣️

    • Sarah
      > Mary
      February 4, 2019

      Yes, that’s a very good point Mary. And I’m all about investing in expensive furniture when we can afford to!

  • Faith
    February 4, 2019

    I just shared this with my son and wife and they love them. They definitely are cuter then most recliners. And so affordable!!

    • Sarah
      > Faith
      February 4, 2019

      Aren’t they so cute Faith? I’m so happy I stumbled on them.

  • Bobbi
    February 4, 2019

    You may have mentioned this is an earlier post, but what color did you use on the door? It looks like a dark gray.

    • Sarah
      > Bobbi
      February 4, 2019

      It’s actually black–it’s called Wrought Iron by Benjamin Moore.

  • Marly @ A Brick Home
    February 4, 2019

    Love these chairs, Sarah! Just curious, what did you end up doing with your old chairs? I liked those ones, too!

    • Sarah
      > Marly @ A Brick Home
      February 4, 2019

      Hi Marly, we actually gave them away to family!

  • Debbie Hernandez
    February 4, 2019

    Thank you for the post I’m looking for some recliners for our bedroom when we redo it. I have a loveseat recliner now and am thinking of going to two recliners instead. I’d probably get the grey ones as I’m going with a grey ton in our room.

  • Erica
    February 4, 2019

    Hi Sarah,
    Is the chair color more beige or cream? I have anew grey walls and wonder if they would coordinate ?

  • Dora
    February 4, 2019

    Two questions. First, do they come with arm covers?

    Second, this may be hard to answer but I am debating about which color to order. It is so hard to tell online exactly what the color will look like. I love the cream in your photos but it looks a little more yellowish cream and brighter on the Walmart site. I have a darker taupe/grey couch and loveseat and a brown leather recliner. I don’t want it to be too stark against those but greys can be tricky so that scares me a bit too. Any insights you can share on the color would be appreciated! Thanks so much for the review!

  • Janna
    February 4, 2019

    Great review! The website doesn’t state the height of seat, can you measure from the floor to the seat cushion? Just wondering if the seat is a good fit for taller people and need the seat height. Thanks!

  • Michelle
    February 5, 2019

    That was a great review of the chairs. I wish I had space for one because they really are pretty. You may have shared this before but where are the pillows with the laces from? I love this space. Thanks for sharing.

  • Miranda
    February 5, 2019

    Love these chairs! Where did you get the light fixtures that are in your nook?
    Thanks!!

  • Beverly Ebersole
    February 6, 2019

    Thank you for the review. I’m considering buying these chairs in the near future.

  • Tonya
    February 6, 2019

    Can you tell me how far off the ground the seat cushion sits? I can not find that measurement on the site anywhere. My father in law is about 6’2 and we are needing to find him a chair that is sturdy that has arms and reclines that he does not have to bend real far down to get seated. If you could maybe also tell me the height from the floor to the top of the arm rest.

    Love the chairs, they look great in your room.

    • Sarah
      > Tonya
      February 6, 2019

      Hi Tonya. From the floor to the top of the cushion it’s about 20 inches. And from the floor to the arm rest it is 26 inches. Hope that helps you! : )

  • Kellie
    February 8, 2019

    Sarah, they are so pretty, and I never would have guessed they were from Walmart!! Super cool!!!

  • Laurie
    February 11, 2019

    Curious, would the chairs match or blend with your IKEA sofa? What color is your ikea sofa?

    • Sarah
      > Laurie
      February 12, 2019

      Yes they definitely would go well together. The IKEA sofa is white.

  • Nicole Watson
    March 13, 2019

    Hi Sarah,
    I just started following your blog, so inspiring! Just want to say we purchased the same recliner last October and have loved it! So convenient that it arrived on our doorstep in less than a week and very easy to assemble.

  • Sharon
    March 17, 2019

    I bought one based on your reviews. 🙂 I do like mine as well. I bought the gray one. It’s cheaper too. I love the color. It’s a very light gray that goes well with my farmhouse decor. Thanks for the info!

  • Jackie
    March 17, 2019

    Thanks so much for the information on these chairs it was so helpful.

  • Deisy Cordova
    June 18, 2019

    Hi Sarah,

    Love these chairs. Is the color more beige or cream?

    Thank you!

    • Sarah
      > Deisy Cordova
      June 18, 2019

      Hi there Deisy. It’s kinda right in between, but if I had to choose one I’d say definitely more cream!

      • Chelsea
        > Sarah
        November 5, 2022

        Are your chairs the beige or light gray fabric?

        • Sarah
          > Chelsea
          November 9, 2022

          they are beige!

  • Brooke
    August 22, 2019

    Such a great review! I’ve been looking at these for a couple years now. My husband loves recliners, but they don’t fit my mojo in my
    house. Except THESE😍 I’m so glad you did this review, I was scared to order them without seeing them in person.

    • Colette Lefebvre
      > Brooke
      December 20, 2019

      I really love this recliner. The link brings me to Walmart’s website, not specifically to the chair. Can’t find it at all ☹️☹️

  • Rachel
    May 17, 2020

    How are the chairs holding up now that you’ve had them a little over a year? I’m thinking about buying them 🙂

    • Sarah
      > Rachel
      May 18, 2020

      Actually really well! Even with my kids getting stains on them all the time, they’re still in great condition.

      • Nancy
        > Sarah
        March 30, 2024

        Are you still pleased with these chairs?

        • Sarah
          > Nancy
          March 31, 2024

          yes we loved them!

  • TD
    May 19, 2020

    Hi, just a question on size…your husband is about the same size as mine and I am wondering do his feet hang off the end of the footrest when reclining in a comfortable sitting position (not flat)? Mine complains that our Pottery Barn recliner is uncomfortable because his feet hang off the end like 10”!

  • Kristy Rice
    June 3, 2020

    Hi! I love these chairs, I just ordered two from walmart. Do you know the name of your rug?

  • Kelly Englese
    July 18, 2020

    Bummer, the price has gone up considerably since you posted. Now the regular price is $349 and the sale price is $289.

  • Melessa
    August 29, 2020

    Are the recliners made of foam or are there springs under the seat. Worried about how much they will break down over time. There is no information regarding how they are built in the description

    • Sarah
      > Melessa
      August 31, 2020

      They do have springs!

  • Mary
    September 27, 2020

    Can you list the sku number for this chair. I want to order the right color. Under description it lists 3 colors-beige, light beige and gray. But up higher where you actually order it lists beige, faux leather and gray. I don’t want to order the wrong color because I need two. Hope you can help me! Thanks

  • Fonda Auldridge
    April 10, 2021

    Fake leather won’t hold up use it or not. Couple of years…holes leather coming off

  • Adrienne
    July 19, 2021

    Now that you have had these recliners are you still in love with them? What color did you chose? Some say the gray looks beige.

    Thank you!

  • Pat Poland
    January 6, 2022

    Great read and loved your pictures
    I will be ordering one recliner
    In Ontario Canada
    Thanks for sharing
    Your house looks cozy and homey
    Great decorating job

  • Janelle
    April 7, 2022

    Hi Sarah – a few years late on this but I am buying one of these chairs now. How did they hold up? It looks like you might’ve gotten rid of them?

    • Sarah
      > Janelle
      April 10, 2022

      they held up great! Our kids were pretty rough on them, so they were stained up (main reason we got rid of them) but they were comfortable!

  • Madelin
    August 6, 2022

    Did you get the protection plan for the recliner by Walmart

    • Sarah
      > Madelin
      August 11, 2022

      no we did not!

  • Sally
    January 7, 2023

    Thanks I’m thinking of buying two based on your review. Are you still living them?

    • Sally
      > Sally
      January 7, 2023

      Sorry meant loving

    • Sarah
      > Sally
      January 11, 2023

      We sold them when we moved, but we had them for several years and loved them!! Definitely still recommend.

  • Abigail
    January 8, 2023

    Do you still have these chairs? Would you still recommend?

    What couch did you match with it?

    • Sarah
      > Abigail
      January 10, 2023

      We sold them when we moved, but definitely still recommend them!

  • Debbie
    May 13, 2023

    Great find👍

  • Sue
    June 25, 2023

    The chair comes in two beiges. Which color did you order?? Thsnks!

  • Deborah
    August 21, 2023

    Can the chair back go back & forth by itself? Can the legs part be used indecently? Do you have to push it back & forth with your hands or is there a button to push or a lever?

  • Claudia Fuentes
    October 18, 2023

    Thanks for your review. I was wondering about this recliners. But you have help me to go ahead and order them and yes in other places are as much as 600 for one recliner.

  • Peg
    November 29, 2023

    Thank you! I just bought one of these online from Walmart and my husband panicked. Lol. After reading your review to him, he feels much better.

    • Janet
      > Peg
      December 9, 2023

      How did you find them? I’ve just searched for them at Walmart but no luck.

  • Janet
    December 9, 2023

    Wish I could find those chairs now!!!

  • Karol
    December 11, 2023

    Hello,
    Are you still happy with the purchase of these 2 Better Home & Garden recliners? I’ve been looking for a pair of chairs for awhile. Are they still holding up? Thank you, Karol

    • Sarah
      > Karol
      December 13, 2023

      yes we loved them while we had them!!